Wordcrafters by Allison & Josie | My Entry

A few days ago, I entered into a little challenge that Allison and Josie created together called Wordcrafters! She has a randomized list of all the girls participating, and each one writes a chapter of the story. Once someone is done, the next person in line will begin writing their chapter where the previous person left off. You can add anything you want into your chapter, just so long as it fits with the story.

Anyways, it has now come to my turn! I have my little piece that I wrote down below.

(If you want to see all the previous chapters of the story, go to Allison’s page right here)

Enjoy! πŸ™‚

Wordcrafters Chapter 7:

Alalia trudged slowly and tiredly along the yellow brick road. She had been walking on it for at least two hours, and she was beginning to get extremely exhausted. All of this fairy tale craziness was starting to get a little overwhelming. Alalia sighed. And this wasn’t just any ordinary sigh. This was a toes-to-head, from-her-very-sorrowful-depths kind of sigh. All she wanted to do was get home. All she wanted to do was get out of all this big mess and go back to a normal life. There were so many twists and turns everywhere that she just didn’t know what would happen next. Alalia was really starting to get pretty tired of this. As her boredom grew, Alalia started listing off all the fairy tales she had met this afternoon.

Let’s see, there was Little Red Riding Hood, Goldilocks, Hansel and Gretel, Robin Hood, and right now is the Wizard of Oz. How many more will there be?? Oh, how I wish I had a good book right now.

Alalia looked farther up the road. All she could see was big green meadows with tall grass and wild flowers moving softly from the slight breeze. Once again, Alalia had a deep desire to go back home.

Well, it seems I have no other choice but to keep going.

And that’s what she did. She situated her basket so that it sat more comfortably on her arm and continued on her long trek down the yellow brick road. As she walked she started humming to pass the time.

I’ve been workin’ on the railroad…

Alalia’s humming trailed off as she saw something strange on the road up in the distance. It was some sort of green mist swirling around in a big circle. She squinted her eyes to see better, but kept walking towards it. It kept growing in size so much that she discovered it was large enough to fit a full grown person inside. As she realized this, Alalia started walking quickly towards the green mist until she was almost jogging. Her heart pumped faster and faster as her excited thoughts raced through her mind.

This is it! This is my way home! It’s just like the way I came into this crazy world!

She was still a good hundred feet away, but by now she had thrown away the basket and was full out running towards the mist with her eyes glued to it. Her chocolate brown hair had come out of its braids and was streaking out behind her. Her long legs pumped and her breathing came in quick, short gulps of air as she neared the portal.

Almost there..almost there!

Alalia was about 20 feet away when suddenly, something dark covered the portal, there was a loud bang, a blinding flash of bright green light. Alaia felt herself in the air and then all was black.

Alalia woke up lying face down on the yellow brick road. Her hair was tangled together and completely strewn into a mess. She had dirt stains and a few rips on her once-beautiful crimson dress, and her cloak had been torn off. Alalia winced in pain as she slowly rose to a sitting position and made sure she had no broken bones. There were none, thankfully, but she had many scrapes and bruises. Once her mind had cleared, she looked around.

What she saw completely shocked her.

57c03aa2a43f9ca4a73fde9d23de0ab0
via Pinterest

For standing there, was a boy. Usually, she would’ve thought that this boy was from another fairy tale, but he was dressed with jeans, a grey t-shirt, a black leather jacket, and black dusty cowboy boots. He had slightly spiked black hair, but it was in a bit of a mess as he looked around in wild surprise.

“Wha-??” was the only thing he managed to say to himself.

His eyes finally rested on Alalia, and he started in shock. When he got over his surprise, he came over to her.

“Who are you? And what am I doing here??”

Alalia realized that she was staring at him with her mouth open. She quickly amended that and stood up, trying to brush the dirt off herself. When she finished, she looked over the boy. He was fairly tall, around six foot, five inches. His boots, jeans, and some of his jacket were very dusty, like he had fallen to the ground but hastily picked himself up again. She looked into his eyes, and he had such a puzzled look in them. It wasn’t quite panic, but more of a mix of disbelief and surprise. Alalia answered him a little timidly.

“I’m Alalia Lark, and as for what you’re doing here, I was just about to ask you the same thing.”

He replied in a slightly shaky voice, “I’m Jacob Husty, but I don’t think you’ll believe how I got here.” Timidness gone, Alalia crossed her arms and gave him a stern look.

“Try me.”

He put a hand over his mouth as he looked around at his surroundings once again and contemplated what was happening. He took a deep breath.

“I was driving to my friend’s house to watch football, when some sort of cloud of green mist appears in front of my car. I tried to swerve around it, but somehow all I could do was go through it. There was a bright flash of light. And I found myself here,” he waves a hand over his surroundings,”wherever here is.”

It was then Alalia realized that Jacob had come through the portal into this fairy tale world just like she had.


 

I actually think that went quite well, if I do say so myself. πŸ˜‰ It definitely was pretty long, but I didn’t want to leave anything out so I just kept it that way. You have a pretty nice cliffhanger to work with, Loren, and I bet you’ll have fun with that one. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for reading!

12 thoughts on “Wordcrafters by Allison & Josie | My Entry

let's chat

