Book Review: The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin

If you hadn’t heard already about my TBR stack, this was one of the books. I was extremely excited about reading it, and really loved reading it, so I’m gonna do a review for all of you so you can be excited about it too. ๐Ÿ™‚

The-Thing-About-Jellyfish-206x300Title: The Thing About Jellyfish

Author: Ali Benjamin

Length: 252 pages

Genre: MG Contemporary

Publisher: Little Brown Books for Young Readers

Source: My Library

Blurb: After her best friend dies in a drowning accident, Suzy is convinced that the true cause of the tragedy must have been a rare jellyfish sting-things donโ€™t just happen for no reason. Retreating into a silent world of imagination, she crafts a plan to prove her theoryโ€“even if it means traveling the globe, alone. Suzyโ€™s achingly heartfelt journey explores life, death, the astonishing wonder of the universeโ€ฆand the potential for love and hope right next door.


Let me just tell you that this book is a very, very good book. I absolutely LOVED it. So beautiful. And isn’t the cover absolutely gorgeous?? How the way the watercolors flow and the jellyfish sort of as a kite?? *sigh*

As soon as I started reading it, I felt like I wanted to give Suzy (squeals! She has my name! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ) as many lollipops, Skittles, and other happy things as I could. She was just such a likable character, and I wanted to cheer her up as best as I could.

After Suzy’s ugh im still trying to get over typing my own name and its not me best friend Franny dies from drowning, it’s almost as if Suzy herself drowned in misery and depression. She was so annoyed with everyone feeling pitiful for her and having such pity-filled conversations that she just chose not to speak at all.

I really love the way Ali Benjamin writes the way Suzy feels inside of her head. Normally, people explain a character by what they say in conversations. But since Suzy decides to be mute, Ali explains it all by telling us what Suzy is thinking and what her reactions are like inside of her. She just writes it so well.

The way thatย there were flashbacks of Suzy and Franny’s life together as friends before Franny died really intrigued me as well. The book started out with Franny already dead, so it was a bit hard to feel as much emotion for Suzy’s loss. But as there were more flashbacks throughout the book, I understood everything much better. The only part that I didn’t really love, was that Franny turned on Suzy. I felt like that wasn’t very good friendship on her part, which made me not like as much as I wanted.

I absolutely love the friendship between Justin and Suzy.

THEY’RE SO STINKIN’ ADORABLE

I felt like if there was a YA book and these two peoples’ relationship grew, I would totally ship it. They’re so much alike, and yet so much not alike that the match was PERFECT.

giphy

The only thing I did not like about this book, was that there was gayism. I was not happy about that. Sure, there was only about two or three sentences saying anything about it, but still, this is a juvenile book people! This is like the third juvenile book that I’ve read that has gayism in it! Is this seriously necessary? We’re talking about 10-11 year-olds reading this! You probably think that I’m overreacting about this whole thing, but I am Christian, and I do not like these kind of things. I mean, really. It seems that as soon as the government made gayism legal, we want LITTLE KIDS TO BE READING ABOUT IT??? What on EARTH has this society come to? Oh wait. I forgot. I forgot that we’re now letting 10 year-olds reading very,ย very adult books like The Fault in Our Stars and Hunger Games.*sigh* I’m gonna have to make a post about this. I’ll stop ranting now everybody. Sorry about that. ๐Ÿ˜•

On that happy note, let’s get back to the review, shall we?

Favorite Quotes

Jellyologists, I thought. I need a jellyologist.

****

Somehow, that fact โ€“ that sometimes things do just happen โ€“ seemed like it might be the scariest and saddest truth of all.

****

I liked the way patterns repeated themselves in this universe, or the way a solar system could resemble an atom, or a mountain range seen from outer space could look like a fern leaf covered in frost. I liked the thought that three billion bugs fly over my head in a single month in summer or that an inch of soil might contain millions of creatures from thousands of different species.
These things made me feel like I could stand in one place my whole life and never run out of things to discover. I liked that there were out there, waiting to be known.

****

I must agree with Izel on this one. This is a book that will sit in the back of your mind long after did she mean to say before or after? i think she meant after… you finish gobbling it up. ๐Ÿ™‚

My Ratings:

โญ โญ โญ โญ 3/4

The reason why I gave it 4 3/4 was because of the gayism. Sure, it’s just a few sentences, but I still stick to my point. Smaller kids should not be reading these things.

Other than that, it is an amazing book. I definitely recommend. ๐Ÿ™‚

Random Musings:

If you haven’t already, don’t forget to enter my giveaway. ๐Ÿ™‚

I started an Etsy shop! ๐Ÿ˜€ It’s called iSquishy Creations, and I sell all kinds of Amigurumi animals. ๐Ÿ˜Šย I only have three items on there at the moment, but more are coming soon! You can go check it out and even buy something not that you would but one always hopes if you want.

iSquishy4

The Craft Studio

 

Also, Madi and I are collaborating to swap Q&A posts on each other’s blogs! Can you guys give some questions for Madi to answer on CnC? Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

12 thoughts on “Book Review: The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin

let's chat

