Book Review: Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods by Rick Riordan

Oh yeah.

OH YEAH

BRING IT OON–

We would like to interrupt this report with an important announcement.

Me and Madi are planning to swap Q & A posts. She answers questions that people have asked on this blog and I answer questions that people have asked on her blog. So, if you want that is, please give us some answers for her to answer! Just comment them down below, and we’ll take care of the rest. πŸ™‚

The report you were listening to will now commence. Thank you for your cooperation.

*ahem*

This review is on the famous Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods book.

It was a really great book. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it, and I bet you will too.

Percy Jackson's Greek Gods

Title: Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods

Author: Rick Riordan

Length: 313 Pages

Genre: Fantasy Nonfiction (how does that even work??)

Publisher: Disney Hyperion Books

Source: My parents for Christmas

Blurb: A publisher in New York asked to write down what I know about the Greek gods, and I was like, “Can we do this anonymously? Because I don’t need the Olympians mad at me again.” But if it helps you to know your Greek gods, and survive an encounter with them if they ever show up in your face, then I guess writing all this down will be my good deed for the week.

So begins Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods, in which the son of Poseidon adds his own magic–and sarcastic asides–to the classics. He explains how the world was created, then gives readers his personal take on a who’s who on the ancients, from Apollo to Zeus. Percy does not hold back.

“If you like lots of lying, stealing, backstabbing, and cannibalism, then read on, because it definitely was the Golden Age for all that.”

Dramatic full-color illustrations throughout by Caldecott Honoree John Rocco make this volume–a must for home, library, and classroom shelves–as stunning as it is entertaining.


This was an excellent book. I’m not surprised though, considering it’s by Rick Riordan… I’ve always loved his style of writing, and this book isn’t an exception.

Basically, what it’s about, is Percy Jackson telling the stories of Greek gods and titans. He explains everything in a very detailed way, which really helps if you need information for a report or something else for school.

Percy Jackson also tells it in chronological order. This is great in case you are needing to know the order in which the titans came, when they got married, when the gods were born, and so forth. He doesn’t say anything about how long they lived (that I remember), but I don’t think that many Greek gods books do… (probably because they the people in the They Building [AHAHA *slaps knee] believed the gods were immortal)

AND CAN I JUST TALK ABOUT HIS SARCASM FOR A SEC??

Percy makes this book such a hilarious read with his sarcastic inputs and comments. He cracks up so many bad jokes and insults, which make the book SO much better. I love his snappy comebacks and the way he talks about how he’s so grossed out by things in the book. He pretty much doesn’t like any god except Poseidon. He always has something to say to each and every one of them. Which is the best. Thing. Ever. πŸ˜‚

I felt like that is just awesome, because it makes this book different than any of the other Greek gods books. They’re all usually so boring, and I don’t want to have to read them (but I do for school or other “educational” reasons). The way Riordan writes the book so it’s narrated by Percy makes me want to read it. This was pretty ingenious thinking on Riordan’s part, as it makes it more fun for kids to get their education on Greek gods and what the Romans believed without falling asleep. Trust me. It’s happened before.

And the art work.

OH THE ART WORK.

The illustrations are so amazing they make me wanna cry. *sniff sniff* My art self is dying right now.

My Emotions gif

John Rocco did an amazing job illustrating this book. Once I saw the first picture, I was trying to read faster so I could see the next one. They were all absolutely amazing, and just because I can’t help it, I will show you a few of them. But don’t worry, I’ll just show you enough for you to totally fall in love with the book and make you want to spend all of your money and get it. *insert evil cackling here*

IMG_7001

The scene this picture illustrates is really sad, but the picture is beautiful.

IMG_7002

This is another sad scene, but I still love the illustration.

IMG_6999

Poseidooon

IMG_6998

YOU DO NOT KNOW THE POWER OF THE DARK SIIIDE

Favorite Quotes

“If you like lots of lying, stealing, backstabbing, and cannibalism, then read on, because it definitely was the Golden Age for all that.”

****

If you’re trying to not have kids, don’t marry a lady who’s the Titan of motherhood.

****

So Aphrodite married Hephaestus and the celebrity ship Aphrophaestus completely dominated Olympian tabloid news for like a thousand years. Did they live happily ever after?

HAHAHAHAHA.

No.

****

Excuse me, have you seen Death? Big guy with black feathery wings? Likes to reap souls?

****

You’ve probably met moms like that. You say, β€œYeah, I scored a goal in the soccer game last night.” And she says, β€œOh, that’s nice. All fourteen of my children are the captains of their teams, and they make straight A’s and can play the violin.” And you just want to smack her.

****

“My favorite son!” Gaea cried. “You are awesome! I knew I could count on you, uh… which one are you again?”

****

Hands down, this is one of the best Percy Jackson books I have read (but then again, they’re all really amazing πŸ˜‰). It’s written so, so well, and it really, really makes me want to buy Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes.

*sigh* Someday…

I Never Look Back Darling gif

Anyways, I’m gonna rate this 5 stars, cuz it’s just so stinkin’ amazing.

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Read the Book Gif

There ya have it, folks! Hope you enjoyed the review! And don’t forget to give Madi some questions to answer and maybe enter my giveaway if you haven’t already. πŸ™‚

Also, my mom showed me a website where they have a live video camera of a Bald Eagle’s nest. It’s a male and female named Mr. President and The First Lady. They even have some little baby eagles. Just thought it was pretty cool, and that I’d share that with all of ya. πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Book Review: Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods by Rick Riordan

  1. I OWN THIS BOOK IT IS JUST AS AMAZING AS SUZY SAYS IT IS.
    Like seriously probably the best author to turn to when you want to get psyched about mythology
    The book is so huge though lol but that makes it better because the artwork is very beautiful!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES IT TOALLY ISSS
      Oh my goodness YES! Rick Riordan is so good when it comes to mythology.
      Haha, I know, right? It’s so hard to get in a comfortable position when reading it in bed. πŸ˜‚
      But I just absolutely love the artwork. It’s amazing. πŸ™‚
      ~ Suzy

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, me too! No, unfortunately, but I have read most of them. I too need to fin Heroes of Olympus, I’ve heard they’re pretty good. πŸ™‚
      No problem, it’s a great blog. And thank you for visiting! πŸ˜‰
      ~ Suzy

      Like

let's chat

